Our governance and leadership

Corporate governance

The objectives, powers and institutional framework of the University of Hertfordshire are defined by our Articles of Government (PDF - 0.16 Mb).

The University of Hertfordshire has met the Office for Students (OfS) requirements to be a registered provider of Higher Education in England. This means that we provide high quality courses held to robust academic standards, that we support and protect our students from admission through to graduation, and that our students’ qualifications are valued by employers and enable further study.

University policies and regulations (UPRs) are issued by the Secretary and Registrar in his or her capacity as Secretary to the Board of Governors and the Academic Board and as the chief administrative officer of the University.

About our leadership

Our leadership includes the Chancellor, Vice Chancellor and a range of governing bodies that include members from across the university, the wider public, government organisations and local and regional industry.

This collaborative input ensures that we are delivering our strategic objectives using the widest possible lens to truly power the potential of our university community and the progress of the community in which we operate.

Our Chancellor is the honorary head of the University, representing us from time to time in a ceremonial and ambassadorial capacity.

Our Board of Governors is responsible for overseeing the strategic organisation, direction and management of the University. Its members come from a wide variety of sectors and industries such as local government, business, pharmaceuticals, finance, and higher education.

The Vice Chancellor's Executive exercises considerable influence upon the development of our strategy, the identification and planning of new development and the shaping of our ethos.

The Chief Executive’s Group is an extension of the Vice Chancellor's Executive which exercises day-to-day management control, focusing on professional support activities and corporate policy and strategy.

The Office of the Vice-Chancellor oversees the day-to-day running of the University, with oversight of a range of teams delivering governance and other services to the Herts community.

The Academic Board is responsible for academic quality and standards, academic policies, research and scholarships.

How we're collaborating across the sector

University Alliance

As members of the University Alliance (UA), we are leaders in technical education, professional training, research and development, enterprise, and innovation. Alliance members have deep roots in the communities in which they operate, with a heritage of delivering the skilled graduates needed by industry and the professions, at the right moment in time.

Universities UK (UUK)

We are also members of Universities UK (UUK), where our Vice-Chancellor Professor Quintin McKellar CBE currently serves as Vice-President (England and Northern Ireland) and a member of the Board.

UUK works with universities, the government and other stakeholders to continue improving higher education throughout the UK.

Advance HE

The University of Hertfordshire is a member of Advance HE, a member-led, sector-owned charity that works with institutions and higher education across the world to improve higher education for staff, students and society. We currently hold Bronze awards in the Race Equality Charter (REC) and Athena Swan. You can learn more about those awards on our EDI pages.

Regional education partnership

West Herts College logo
Hertford Regional College logo
North Hertfordshire College logo
Oaklands College logo

Herts is also a member of the Hertfordshire Higher Education Consortium, a partnership between the University and four colleges: Hertford Regional, North Hertfordshire, Oaklands and West Herts. Students benefit from industry-focused teaching and resources which ensure they have the skills and knowledge to progress upon completion of their courses.

Our Schools of Study and Strategic Business Units (SBUs)

Our seven Schools of Study offer more than 500 graduate and undergraduate programmes across our two vibrant, inclusive campuses and Bayfordbury Observatory. Just under 32,000 students from 140 countries benefit from our academic excellence, access to state-of-the-art facilities and unique opportunities to engage with industry and the public sector—during their time with us, and beyond.

We employ approximately 3,000 members of staff in our schools, on campus, and across our nine Strategic Business Units (SBUs).

Delivering world-leading research

Herts' Research focuses on six themes which reflect our interdisciplinary strengths in tackling the most pressing global challenges of the 21st century.

We are ranked in the top 25% of all universities in terms of research impact, and 78% of our research has been ranked ‘world-leading’ or ‘internationally excellent’ (Research Excellence Framework 2021).

Our subsidiary companies

A range of Subsidiary Companies also form part of the University, providing a wealth of additional services to students, staff, the wider community and local and regional industry.

Our status as a charity

The University of Hertfordshire is an exempt charity, pursuant to the Charities Act 2011, and is therefore exempt from registration with, and direct regulation by, the Charity Commission.

As an exempt charity, we comply with the Charities Act 2011 and the Charity Commission’s guidance for charitable trustees regarding their legal duties and responsibilities.

We are regulated by the Office for Students (OfS) established as the regulator of the English higher education under the provisions of the Higher Education and Research Act 2017 (HERA).

University of Hertfordshire Charitable Trust

The University of Hertfordshire Charitable Trust is an unincorporated charitable trust, constituted under a Trust Deed dated 28 May 1986. In 1993, a Deed was made varying the Declaration of Trust to recognise the provisions of the Education Reform Act 1988 and the Further and Higher Education Act 1992.  The purpose of the Trust is to advance and further education and learning at the University of Hertfordshire, and this primarily takes place through scholarships, bursaries and other schemes.

The Trust is a charity linked to the University of Hertfordshire Higher Education Corporation, which is itself an exempt charity, by virtue of paragraph 28 of Schedule 3 of the Charities Act 2011.  The University’s regulator is the Office for Students. The Trust is also linked to the Sir Geoffrey de Havilland Memorial Fund.

The Board of Governors of the University of Hertfordshire Higher Education Corporation is the sole Trustee of the University of Hertfordshire Charitable Trust. The day-to-day running of the Trust is delegated to the Vice-Chancellor’s Development Committee and designated officers of the University.

You might also be interested in:

Our strategy, vision and culture Corporate publications University Calendar