Term and semester dates

Find out about our Academic Year Calendar.

The academic year

Term dates

Term 2019 - 2020 2020-2021
Autumn Monday 23 September 2019 - Friday 20 December 2019 Monday 21 September 2020 – Friday 18 December 2020
Spring Monday 13 January 2020 - Friday 03 April 2020 Monday 04 January 2021 – Friday 26 March 2021
Summer Monday 20 April 2020 - Friday 22 May 2020 Monday 12 April 2021 - Friday 21 May 2021

Semester dates

Semester 2019 - 2020 2020-2021
Semester A Monday 23 September 2019 - Friday 17 January 2020

(17 weeks, including exam period and integral Christmas vacation 3 weeks)

There will be examinations on Saturday 18 January 2020 for certain students.

Relevant staff and all students must be available to attend exams on any of the above exam days.
Monday 21 September 2020 - Friday 22 January 2021 

(18 weeks, including exam period and integral Christmas vacation 2 weeks)

There will be examinations on Saturday 23 January 2021 for certain students.

Relevant staff and all students must be available to attend exams on any of the above exam days.
Semester B Monday 20 January 2020 - Friday 22 May 2020

(18 weeks, including inter-sessional week)

There will be examinations from Monday 22 June 2020 – Friday 03 July 2020 for referred/deferred assessments from Semesters A and B.

Relevant staff and all students must be available to attend exams on any of the above exam days.

During the inter-sessional week relevant students will need to be available as some Schools may still be teaching.

Monday 25 January 2021 - Friday 21 May 2021 

(17 weeks, including exam period and integral Easter vacation 2 weeks) 

There may be examinations on Saturday 08 May 2021 and Saturday 15 May 2021 for certain students.

There will be examinations from Monday 21 June 2021 – Friday 02 July 2021 for referred/deferred assessments from Semesters A and B.

Relevant staff and all students must be available to attend exams on any of the above exam days.

Semester C Monday 25 May 2020 - Friday 18 September 2020

(17 weeks, including exam period and integral vacation weeks determined by programme)

There will be examinations from Monday 07 September 2020 – Friday 11 September 2020 for approved programme-specific referred/deferred assessments and Semester C assessments.

Relevant staff and all students must be available to attend exams on any of the above exam days.
Monday 24 May 2021 - Friday 17 September 2021 

(17 weeks, including exam period and integral vacation weeks determined by programme)

There will be examinations from Monday 06 September 2021 – Friday 10 September 2021 for approved programme-specific referred/deferred assessments and Semester C assessments.

Relevant staff and all students must be available to attend exams on any of the above exam days.

Public holidays

Holiday 2019 - 2020 2020-2021
Christmas Wednesday 25 December 2019
Thursday 26 December 2019
Friday 25 December 2020
Monday 28 December 2020
(substitute Boxing Day)
New Year Wednesday 01 January 2020 Friday 01 January 2021
EasterFriday 02 April 2021
Monday 13 April 2020
Friday 02 April 2021
Monday 05 April 2021
May DayFriday 08 May 2020 Monday 03 May 2021
Spring Bank HolidayMonday 25 May 2020 Monday 31 May 2021
Summer Bank HolidayMonday 31 August 2020 Monday 30 August 2021
University HolidaysThe University will be closed from 12.00 hours on Tuesday 24 December 2019 until 08.30 hours on Thursday 02 January 2020.

The University will also be closed on Tuesday 01 September 2020.
The University will be closed on Thursday 24 December 2020 until 08.30 hours on Monday 04 January 2021.

The University will also be closed on Tuesday 31 August 2021.