Term and semester dates

Find out about our Academic Year Calendar.

The academic year

Term dates

Term 2020-2021 2021-2022
AutumnMonday 21 September 2020 – Friday 18 December 2020 Monday 27 September 2021 – Friday 17 December 2021
SpringMonday 04 January 2021 – Friday 26 March 2021 Monday 10 January 2022– Friday 08 April 2022
SummerMonday 12 April 2021 - Friday 21 May 2021 Monday 25 April 2022 - Friday 13 May 2022

Semester dates

Semester 2020-2021 2021-2022
Semester AMonday 21 September 2020 - Friday 22 January 2021

(18 weeks, including exam period and integral Christmas vacation 2 weeks)

There will be examinations on Saturday 23 January 2021 for certain students.

Relevant staff and all students must be available to attend exams on any of the above exam days.
Monday 27 September 2021 - Friday 21 January 2022

(17 weeks, including exam period and integral Christmas vacation 3 weeks)

There will be examinations on Saturday 22 January 2022 for certain students.

Relevant staff and all students must be available to attend exams on any of the above exam days.
Semester BMonday 25 January 2021 - Friday 21 May 2021

(17 weeks, including exam period and integral Easter vacation 2 weeks)

There will be examinations from Monday 21 June 2021 – Friday 02 July 2021 for referred/deferred assessments from Semesters A and B.

Relevant staff and all students must be available to attend exams on any of the above exam days.

Monday 24 January 2022 - Friday 13 May 2022 

(16 weeks, including exam period and integral Easter vacation 2 weeks) 

There may be examinations on Saturday 07 May 2022 for certain students.

There will be examinations from Monday 20 June 2022 – Friday 01 July 2022 for referred/deferred assessments from Semesters A and B.

Relevant staff and all students must be available to attend exams on any of the above exam days.

Semester CMonday 24 May 2021 - Friday 17 September 2021

(17 weeks, including exam period and integral vacation weeks determined by programme)

There will be examinations from Monday 06 September 2021 – Friday 10 September 2021 for approved programme-specific referred/deferred assessments and Semester C assessments.

Relevant staff and all students must be available to attend exams on any of the above exam days.
Monday 16 May 2022 - Friday 09 September 2022 

(17 weeks, including exam period and integral vacation weeks determined by programme)

There will be examinations from Monday 05 September 2022 – Friday 09 September 2021 for approved programme-specific referred/deferred assessments and Semester C assessments.

Relevant staff and all students must be available to attend exams on any of the above exam days.

Public holidays

Holiday 2020-2021 2021-2022
ChristmasFriday 25 December 2020
Monday 28 December 2020
(substitute Boxing Day)
Monday 27 December 2021
(substitute Christmas Day)
Tuesday 28 December 2021
(substitute Boxing Day)
New YearFriday 1 January 2021 Monday 3 January 2022
(substitute New Year's Day)
EasterFriday 2 April 2021
Monday 5 April 2021
Friday 15 April 2022
Monday 18 April 2022
May DayMonday 3 May 2021 Monday 2 May 2022
Spring Bank HolidayMonday 31 May 2021 Thursday 2 June 2022
Jubilee Bank HolidayN/AFriday 3 June 2022
Summer Bank HolidayMonday 30 August 2021 Monday 29 August 2022
University HolidaysThe University will be closed at 16:00 hours on Friday 18 December 2020 until 08.30 hours on Monday 4 January 2021. The University will be closed on Friday 24 December 2021 until 08:30 hours on Tuesday 4 January 2022.

The University will also be closed on Tuesday 30 August 2022.