New graduates of the University of Hertfordshire celebrate their success at St Albans Abbey

 1 January 2024 4 September 2023
4 September 2023

The University of Hertfordshire will host its annual graduation ceremony over the coming weeks at St Albans Cathedral.

The event will see more than 6000 students celebrate graduating from their undergraduate and postgraduate courses alongside their friends, family and staff in ceremonies taking place between 5 – 14 September.

The University will also bestow Honorary Awards upon 12 of its alumni and other notable figures who have made a significant contribution to the University, the local community or in their own field.

Honorary Doctorates this year include Robert Voss CBE CStJ, His Majesty’s Lord-Lieutenant of Hertfordshire; Matt Hyde OBE, Chief Executive of the Scouts; Sally Burton, a recent High Sheriff of Hertfordshire; Dr Sally Ann Forsyth OBE, Chief Executive Officer for the Stevenage Bioscience Catalyst; and Baroness Taylor of Stevenage, who is an alumna of the University.

Professor Quintin McKellar, Vice Chancellor of the University, said: “We are looking forward to inviting our 2023 graduates down to St Albans Abbey to celebrate their achievements. I continue to be impressed by the creativity, resilience and fantastic achievements of our student and staff community.

“Our graduating students should be very proud of themselves for all the hard work they have put in. I hope they all have special memories of their time in Hertfordshire, and I wish them all the best in their next steps.

“I am also very pleased that we are appointing 12 new Honorary Doctors and Masters, many of whom are alumni and former staff who have made a significant impact on both life at the University and the wider community”.

Honorary Degrees will be awarded to:

  • Angelina Ankomah – Honorary Master of Science – alumna and midwife whose achievements have been an inspiration to Black, Asian and minority ethnic staff across health and care services.
  • Sally Burton – Honorary Doctor of Laws – High Sheriff of Hertfordshire 2022-23
  • Renata Crome – Honorary Doctor of Science – Pharmaceutical specialist
  • Professor Jerry Forrester – Honorary Doctor of Science – alumnus and previously Dean of Hertfordshire Business School.
  • Dr Sally Ann Forsyth OBE – Honorary Doctor of Science – Chief Executive Officer of Stevenage Bioscience Catalyst
  • Lizzie Franklin-Jones MBE – Honorary Master of Science – alumna and Children and Young People’s Mental Health Matron at Hertfordshire Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust.
  • Matt Hyde OBE – Honorary Doctor of Arts – Chief Executive of the Scouts.
  • Briege Leahy – Honorary Master of Science – outgoing Chief Executive Officer of Hertfordshire Chamber of Commerce.
  • Peter Nicolson – Honorary Doctor of Science – Founder of C4 Carbides Ltd.
  • Jeffery Quaye OBE – Honorary Doctor of Education – alumnus and National Director of Education and Standards for the Aspirations Academies Trust.
  • Baroness Sharon Taylor OBE – Honorary Doctor of Laws – alumna and Leader of Stevenage Council, 2006-2023.
  • Robert Voss CBE CStJ – Honorary Doctor of Laws – His Majesty’s Lord-Lieutenant of Hertfordshire.

The University recently celebrated fantastic feedback from this year’s graduating students in the National Student Survey (NSS), placing 1st among East of England universities, and 26th nationally according to the Times Higher Education’s overall positivity score. Herts also received excellent results in the 2023 Postgraduate Taught Experience Survey (PTES), placing second out of 101 universities in the UK and in the top five for every section of the survey.


Press Office +44 (0)1707 285 770