Academic Board

The role and responsibilities of the Academic Board are set out in the Articles of Government.

The Academic Board Committee Structure gives detailed governance information.

Current membership

Academic Board membership
Vice-Chancellor who shall be Chairman of the Board Professor Quintin McKellar
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Vice-Chairman of the Board) Professor Julie Newlan (Interim)
Secretary and Registrar who shall be Secretary to the Board Sharon Harrison-Barker
Pro Vice-ChancellorsDr Mairi Watson
Professor John Senior
Four Deans of School, nominated by the Deans of School for terms of office of three yearsProfessor Rodney Day
Professor Jackie Kelly
Professor Damian Ward
Academic Registrar Julie Kelly
Chief Information and Digital Officer David Gillard
Dean of Students Geri Ward
President of SU or one student nominated by the Trustees of the University of Hertfordshire Students’ UnionRhiannon Ellis
Two students nominated by the Student Representative Council


Two members of the professional staff elected by the professional staffLucy Bamwo
Pam Lambert
Eight members of the academic staff elected by the academic staffDr Michael Callan
Dr Joel Carlton
Associate Professor Martina Doolan
Joanna Rawska
Dr Funlade Sunmola
Ray Wilkinson
Amanda Yip
One teacher nominated by the Academic Board to serve as a member of the Board of GovernorsVacant
Officers in attendance

Group Finance Director
Alistair Moffat

Director of Doctoral College
Dr Susan Grey

Director of Academic Quality Assurance 
Professor Frank Haddleton 

Director of Learning and Teaching
Karen Barton

Strategic Lead: Business, International, Marketing and Recruitment
Jo Stuart

Deputy Secretary and Registrar and Head of Corporate Services
Helen Davidson

Deputy Head of Governance Services (Clerk to the Board)

Leire Caselles Vallejo