Board of Governors

The University is always pleased to consider expressions of interest from prospective candidates for membership of the Board of Governors.

The role and responsibilities of the Board of Governors are set out in detail in the Instrument and Articles of Government. These give effect to the Further and Higher Education Act (1992) under the terms of which the institution achieved university status in 1992.

Should you wish to contact the Governors, please email Jeff Hughes, Head of Governance Services.

The Board of Governors Committee Structure gives detailed governance information.

Current membership

Board of Governors Membership
Independent members

Dr Lynn Drummond (Chair)
Dr Dipti Amin
Dr James Blake
Dr Janet Bohrer
Tony Kypreos
Bob Macnaughton
Raj Singh
Lesley Titcomb
Karen Trew
Lionel Wallace
Dr Jon Walmsley
Claire Ward
David Williams
Nick Willott
Omotolani Fatilewa 

Vice-Chancellor of the UniversityProfessor Quintin McKellar
A student nominated by the Trustees of the University of Hertfordshire Students' UnionRhiannon Ellis
Co-opted member having experience in the provision of educationProfessor Paul Layzell
Co-opted member of the professional staff nominated by the professional staff by means of an election by the professional staff as a wholeAlex Hall
Officers in attendance

Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Professor Julie Newlan (Interim)

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Education and Student Experience)
Dr Mairi Watson

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research and Enterprise)
Professor John Senior

Group Finance Director
Alistair Moffat

Secretary and Registrar (Secretary to the Board)
Sharon Harrison-Barker

Head of Corporate Services / Deputy Secretary and Registrar
Helen Davidson

Strategic Lead for Business, International, Marketing and Recruitment
Jo Stuart

Head of Governance Services (Clerk to the Board)
Jeff Hughes