Poetry Competition

University of Hertfordshire Single Poem Prize

The University of Hertfordshire was delighted to announce the launch of the second Single Poem Prize earlier this year. The first prize was launched in 2018, in conjunction with the University’s Poetry Hub, founded in 2017 to encourage the development and study of contemporary poetics. Judged by Hub fellows Rachel Long, Mark Waldron, and chaired by Wayne Holloway-Smith, the prize is open to anyone living in the UK, and free to enter in the interests of fairness and inclusivity.

The deadline for this competition has now passed. The results of the prize competition will be announced by the
30th September 2019.

Find out more about the Inaugural Poetry Competition and the winning entries.

About the judges

Rachel Long

Rachel Long is a poet & the founder of Octavia - Poetry Collective for Women of Colour, who are housed at Southbank Centre, London. Her work has featured in Magma, The London Magazine, and Modern Poetry in Translation. Rachel has taught at The Poetry School, The Poetry Society, Tate Modern, and The Arvon Foundation. She is co-tutor on the Barbican Young Poets programme.

Mark Waldron

Mark Waldron published two collections with Salt, The Brand New Dark in 2008 and The Itchy Sea in 2011his third, Meanwhile, Trees was published by Bloodaxe in 2016. He was selected as a Next Generation Poet by the Poetry Book Society in 2014.

Wayne Holloway-Smith

Wayne Holloway-Smith’s first collection, Alarum, was published by Bloodaxe Books in 2017, and shortlisted for The Roehampton Poetry Prize, and a Poetry Book Society Guest Selection in the same year. He won The Poetry Society’s Geoffrey Dearmer Prize in 2016. His is a Lecturer in Creative Writing at the University of Hertfordshire.

Find out more

About the Poetry Hub

Submit your poem