Poetry Competition

University of Hertfordshire Single Poem Prize

  • First Prize: £500
  • Second Prize: £100
  • Third Prize: £50

Opening: 1 June 2018

Deadline: 17 August 2018

The University of Hertfordshire Poetry Hub is pleased to announce its inaugural Single Poem Prize as part of its commitment to the promotion of contemporary poetics.

In the interests of accessibility and equal opportunity the competition will be free to enter. Please read the full terms and conditions (PDF - 0.12 Mb).

The Prize will be judged by Poetry Hub Fellows Jane Yeh and Mark Waldron and will be Chaired by Wayne Holloway-Smith.

You can enter the competition by completing the entry form.

About the judges

Jane Yeh

Jane Yeh’s first collection of poems, Marabou, was shortlisted for the Whitbread, Forward, and Aldeburgh poetry prizes. She was named a Next Generation poet by the Poetry Book Society in 2014 for her second collection, The Ninjas. She has been a judge for the National Poetry Competition and the Troubadour International Poetry Prize, and is a Lecturer in Creative Writing at the Open University.

Mark Waldron

Mark Waldron published two collections with Salt, The Brand New Dark in 2008 and The Itchy Sea in 2011his third, Meanwhile, Trees was published by Bloodaxe in 2016. He was selected as a Next Generation Poet by the Poetry Book Society in 2014.

Wayne Holloway-Smith

Wayne Holloway-Smith’s first collection, Alarum, was published by Bloodaxe Books in 2017, and shortlisted for The Roehampton Poetry Prize, and a Poetry Book Society Guest Selection in the same year. He won The Poetry Society’s Geoffrey Dearmer Prize in 2016. His is a Lecturer in Creative Writing at the University of Hertfordshire.

Poetry Hub

The Poetry Hub was founded in 2017 to encourage the development of poetry at the University of Hertfordshire and beyond. It is co-ordinated by Wayne Holloway-Smith.