We've appointed new members to our Board of Governors

2 August 2018

The University of Hertfordshire today announced the appointment of four new independent Governors.

Dr Lynn Drummond, one of the four newly appointed Governors, has also been elected to the position of Board Vice-Chairman.  Dr Drummond has many years’ experience as a Non-Executive Director and Non-Executive Chairman in both quoted and private companies. Her expertise includes scientific and public service with a strong track record in finance and international business.

The three other new Governors are: Dr Dipti Amin, a trained physician and experienced Board member with a particular focus on healthcare and education; Claire Ward, a University of Hertfordshire alumna and former MP for Watford; and Nick Willott, who brings with him 25 years of experience in senior finance roles, including accountancy, auditing and corporate finance.

All four will take up their position as Governors with effect from 1 September 2018.

Professor Quintin McKellar, Vice-Chancellor at the University of Hertfordshire, said: 'I would like to congratulate our new Governors on their appointments and welcome them to the University. I am confident that they will play a significant role in supporting our vision and helping the institution to meet its objectives. Their wealth of expertise and diverse background will contribute to the overall direction and success of the University, ensuring that we continue to thrive as an internationally renowned, leading business-facing university.'

Richard Beazley, Pro Chancellor and Chairman of the University of Hertfordshire’s Board of Governors, commented: 'I am grateful to the new Governors for being willing to serve on the Board. Their considerable experience and broad range of skills and knowledge will add value to the Board, ensuring that we continue to develop as an outstanding University.'

See more information about the University of Hertfordshire Board of Governors.

Image above shows (left to right): Richard Beazley, Claire Ward, Lynn Drummond, Nick Willott, Amal Jolly (Student Union Appointee) and Quintin McKellar


Press Office news@herts.ac.uk +44 (0)1707 285 770