University of Hertfordshire graduates celebrate at St Albans Abbey

8 September 2022

Over five thousand new graduates will emerge from St Albans Abbey over the next ten days, as the University of Hertfordshire holds its annual graduation ceremonies in the cathedral.

Graduating students from undergraduate and postgraduate courses across the University will celebrate their achievements with family, friends and staff in ceremonies taking place from 6 – 15 September.

The University will also confer Honorary Doctorates on alumni and other notable figures who have made significant contribution to the University, the local community or in their own field.

Honorary Doctorates this year include Danielle Carter, alumna of the University and former England and Arsenal football star; George Kruis, fellow alumnus and former Saracens, England and British Lions rugby union player; Lionel Wallace DL, senior aeronautical engineer and Deputy Lieutenant of Hertfordshire who became the first black High Sheriff of the county in 2021; and Jim McManus, Director of Public Health for Hertfordshire and Visiting Professor at the University, who played a vital role in the county’s COVID-19 response.

Professor Quintin McKellar, Vice Chancellor of the University, said: “Graduation is a highlight of the academic year, and it is always a real pleasure to return to St Albans Abbey to celebrate the wonderful achievements of our students and staff. Many of the students graduating this year handled significant challenges during the pandemic, so they should all be very proud not only of their academic achievements, but of the hard work and resilience that got them here.

“I am also pleased that we are appointing 14 new Honorary Doctors and Fellows, many from our own alumni and former staff, who have made fantastic contributions across such a wide range of fields. From sporting achievements to widening access in education, each of them embodies the values and ambitions of the University and we look forward to welcoming them into our community”.

Honorary Degrees will be awarded to:

  • Timothy Acton – Honorary Doctor of Science – alumnus and founder of Therapy in Motion, a service designed to help the recovery of people involved in road accidents.
  • Danielle Carter – Honorary Doctor of Science – alumna and professional footballer currently for Brighton and Hove Albion, and previously for Arsenal and England.
  • Paul Goldspring – Honorary Doctor of Laws – alumnus and Senior District Judge for England and Wales, one of the youngest people to ever hold the post.
  • David Jeffreys – Honorary Doctor of Science – Senior Vice President for Global Regulatory, Government Relations, Public Affairs and Product Safety for medical research company Eisai, based in Hatfield.
  • George Kruis – Honorary Doctor of Science – alumnus and retired rugby union professional who played for Saracens and achieved 45 England caps.
  • Jim McManus – Honorary Doctor of Science – Visiting Professor and Director of Public Health for Hertfordshire, who played a vital role in the local and national COVID-19 response.
  • Rachel Moses OBE – Honorary Doctor of Science – alumna, the first Consultant Respiratory Physiotherapist in Lancashire and South Cumbria, and Chief Allied Health Professional at the London NHS Nightingale Hospital in 2020.
  • Phillip Thompson – Honorary Master of Education – Chair of West Herts College Corporation and former Chair of Oaklands College Corporation.
  • Lionel Wallace DL – Honorary Doctor of Laws – alumnus, senior aeronautical engineer and Deputy Lieutenant of Hertfordshire since 2008, who became the first black High Sheriff of Hertfordshire in 2021.

Fellowships will be awarded to: 

  • David Ball – former Dean of Students who worked for the University for 30 years, instrumental to the establishment of the Disabled Students Network and the first Student Charter.
  • Nick Brooking – former Director of Sport at the University for 17 years, who oversaw significant developments in sport facilities including the building of Hertfordshire Sports Village.
  • Dr Diane Crann and Professor Alan Davies – Alan is former Head of Mathematics who worked at the University for 45 years. Together with Diane, he established a programme of mathematics masterclasses in Hertfordshire and beyond. They receive the first joint fellowship at the University.
  • Judy St John – former staff member who retired in 2021 after 22 years at the University, having been instrumental in the achievement of the Race Equality Charter Mark, and initiatives to shrink the attainment gap between BAME and White British students.

Press Office +44 (0)1707 285 770