Board of Governors

 View of a meeting roomThe role and responsibilities of the Board of Governors are set out in detail in the Instrument and Articles of Government approved by the Privy Council.

These give effect to the Further and Higher Education Act (1992) under the terms of which the institution achieved university status in 1992.

The Board of Governors Committee Structure gives detailed governance information.

Membership - 1 September 2017

Board of Governors Membership
Independent members Mr R Beazley (Chairman)
Dr J Blake
Mr D J Goodridge
Mr T Hughes
Professor A J Hunter
Dr J M Knott
Mr D Konotey-Ahulu
Mr G Morrison
Ms I Nisbet
Mr J Steel
Mr R Voss
Vice-Chancellor of the University Professor Q A McKellar
A teacher of the University nominated by the Academic Board following election by the academic staff as a whole Dr L Mitchell
A student nominated by the Trustees of the University of Hertfordshire Students' Union Ms S P Loasby
Co-opted member having experience in the provision of education Dame Julia Goodfellow
Co-opted member of the professional staff nominated by the professional staff by means of an election by the professional staff as a whole Mrs T Goldlaing
Officers in attendance Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Professor I G Campbell

Group Finance Director
Mr A Moffat

Secretary and Registrar (Secretary to the Board)
Mrs S C Grant

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Business and International Development)
Mrs J A Newlan

Head of Governance Services (Clerk to the Board)
Mr J Hughes