# UNIVERSITY OF HERTFORDSHIRE CENTRE FOR ACADEMIC QUALITY ASSURANCE

## Amendments to UPR AS11 (Schedule of Awards) for 2018/19

This paper summarises the approved amendments to UPR AS11 for the 2018/19 academic year.

## 1. Doctorate in Cyber Security (CSecD) and Doctorate in Public Health (DPH)

The Research Degrees Board have approved the introduction of these two Professional Doctorates. The following amendments to UPR AS11, section 3.4 have been approved:

#### 3 HIGHER DEGREES

# 3.4 Initial Doctorate (professional doctorate)

DBA Doctor of Business Administration
DClinPsy Doctor of Clinical Psychology

<u>CSecD</u> <u>Doctorate in Cyber Security</u>

DDes Doctor of Design
EdD Doctor of Education
EngD Doctor of Engineering
DFA Doctor of Fine Art

DHRes Doctor of Health Research

DHeritage
DMan
Doctor of Heritage
DMan
Doctor of Management
Doctorate in Medicine
DPH
Doctorate in Public Health
DPM
Doctor of Project Management
DPsych
Doctor of Psychotherapy

#### 3.4, A Professional doctorate

(UPR AS181 and UPR AS1011, refer.)

Doctor of Business Administration (DBA); Doctor of Clinical Psychology (DClinPsy); <u>Doctorate in Cyber Security (CSecD)</u>; Doctor of Design (DDes); Doctor of Education (EdD); Doctor of Engineering (EngD); Doctor of Fine Art (DFA); Doctor of Health Research (DHRes); Doctor of Heritage (DHeritage): Doctor of Management (DMan); Doctorate in Medicine (MD), <u>Doctorate in Public Health (DPH)</u>, Doctor of Project Management (DPM) and Doctor of Psychotherapy (DPsych).

A Professional Doctoral Degree shall be awarded to a candidate who has completed successfully an approved programme of supervised research and who has thereby investigated and evaluated critically one or more approved topics and their associated literature, resulting in an independent and original contribution to the professional discipline and has presented a thesis in accordance with the regulations and defended it in an oral examination to the satisfaction of the examiners.

UPR AS18 'PhD (Professional Doctorate) – Generic Regulations'

# 2. Master of Architecture (MArch)

The 11<sup>th</sup> July 2018 meeting of the Academic Development Committee approved the introduction of a Master of Architecture (MArch) as a Master's award. The following amendments to UPR AS11, section 4.3 have been approved:

### 4.3 Master's degrees (taught)

(This section should be read in conjunction with sections 2.1.6 and 2.1.7.)

The University awards the following Master's Degrees

MA Master of Arts

MArch Master of Architecture

MBA Master of Business Administration

MEd Master of Education
LLM Master of Laws

MHMEd Master of Health and Medical Education

MMid Master of Midwifery
MPH Master of Public Health
MSc Master of Science

MTL Masters in Teaching and Learning

Total credit at specified Level(s) normally required for an award (credit at a specified Level can be replaced by credit at a higher Level)	Typical duration of study required	Minimum University of Hertfordshire credit and	Maximum combined APCL APEL, and Level				;L/	
	full-time	Level	Total	0	4	5	6	7
Taught Master's Degree (other than the Master of Business Administration and Master of Architecture):  180 credits, to include at least 150 credits @ Level 7 (with no more than 15 credits below Level 6)	3 Semesters	45 @ 7	135		15		15	105
Master of Business Administration: 180 credits @ Level 7	3 Semesters	120 @ 7	60					60
Master of Architecture: 240 credits @Levels 6/7, to include at least 180 credits @ Level 7	4 Semesters	<u>60 @ 7</u>	<u>180</u>				<u>60</u>	<u>120</u>

### 4.3, A Master of Arts (MA)

The title 'Master of Arts' is generally used in art and design, the arts and humanities, social sciences and in other areas of study where a more specialised title is not appropriate.

#### 4.3, B Master of Architecture (MArch)

<u>The title Master of Architecture is reserved for specialist design-based programmes focused on Architecture</u>

## 4.3, C Master of Business Administration (Executive) (MBA Executive)

The title 'MBA (Executive)' is reserved for programmes which .........

# 3. Master of Regulatory Science (MRegSci)

The 12 October 2016 meeting of the Academic Development Committee approved the introduction of a Master of Regulatory Science (MRegSci) as an Integrated Master's award. The following amendments to UPR AS11, section 7 have been approved:

### 7 INTEGRATED MASTER'S DEGREES

This section should be read in conjunction with sections 2.1.6 and 2.1.7.

The University confers the following Integrated Master's Degrees as first degrees:

MEng Master of Engineering
MPharm Master of Pharmacy
MPhys Master of Physics
MOptom Master of Optometry

MRegSci Master of Regulatory Science

Total credit at specified Level(s) normally required for an award (credit at a specified Level can be replaced by credit at a higher	Typical duration of study required full-	Minimum University of Hertfordshire credi and Level						CL/
Level)	time		Total	0	4	5	6	7
Integrated Master's Degree: 480 credits, including at least 360 @ Level 7/6/5, of which at least 240 must be @ Level 7/6 and at least 120 must be @ Level 7	8 Semesters	120 @ 7	360		120	120	120	

### 7, E Master of Regulatory Science (MRegSci)

The title 'Master of Regulatory Science' is reserved for an undergraduate programme in the regulatory aspects of pharmaceutical studies which extends beyond the level and duration of a programme leading to the Bachelor of Science Degree with Honours. It also incorporates a practice component within the pharmaceutical industry.