28 November 2013 - This story is in archive

The University of Hertfordshire has awarded Peter Waghorn MBE an honorary Master of Science in recognition of his significant contribution to the development of cycling within the county of Hertfordshire.

Dedication and satisfaction

Until earlier this year Peter was Chairman of Welwyn Wheelers, the cycling club where double Olympic gold medallist Laura Trott started her career as an eight-year-old and which also trained two other Olympians, Chris Church and Brendan McKeown, who represented the nation in the 1960s.  As a lifelong enthusiast, Peter has done a tremendous amount over the last fifty years to promote cycling and cycle racing, and to nurture home-grown talent. Without the dedication and enthusiasm of Peter and others like him, it's unlikely that British cycling would be enjoying the popularity it does today.

Commenting on receiving his award, Peter said: "It was great surprise to me to receive an award for my long term activities in a sport which still gives me untold pleasure and satisfaction."    

Giving back

At the ceremony on Tuesday 19 November – held in the Cathedral and Abbey Church of St. Albans – Peter received his Honorary Degree alongside over 4,400 new graduates celebrating academic success. 

In reading the citation, Nick Brooking, Director of Sport at the University of Hertfordshire, said: "It is a particular privilege to pay tribute to Peter today as his philosophy of enjoying sport and giving something back has kept him fit and active and we are delighted to pay tribute to him today.  In recognition of Peter's significant contribution to the development of cycling within the county of Hertfordshire, I'm delighted to present the award of honorary Master of Science to Peter Waghorn MBE."

Pillars of community

The University has also shown its appreciation to nineteen other pillars of the community by awarding Honorary Degrees and Fellowships for outstanding contribution to academic disciplines, charity, professions or public service – presented by Lord Salisbury, Chancellor of the University of Hertfordshire; Professor Quintin McKellar, Vice-Chancellor; Professor Ian Campbell, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Richard Beazley, Pro Chancellor.