4 June 2013

Over 4,500 new graduates, their proud parents and friends have been invited to celebrate academic success in St Albans next week alongside other notable high achievers such as legendary James Bond actor, Sir Roger Moore as the film franchise celebrates its 50th year

Annual awards ceremony

At the annual Awards Ceremony, the University will show its appreciation to fifteen pillars of the community by awarding Honorary Degrees and Fellowships for outstanding contribution to academic disciplines, charity, professions or public service - presented by Lord Salisbury, Chancellor of the University of Hertfordshire; Professor Quintin McKellar, Vice-Chancellor, Professor Graham Galbraith, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Mrs Jo Connell, Pro Chancellor. 

“These ceremonies are the ultimate recognition that the University can award its students following their hard work,” says Philip Waters, Secretary and Registrar at the University of Hertfordshire who leads the academic procession at the ceremonies. “This year our honorary awards are recognising legendary James Bond actor, Sir Roger Moore as well as Bird Song author, Dr Sebastian Faulks and Paralympic athlete, Mr Jody Cundy.” 

Honorary awards

Honorary Awards and Fellowships will be awarded to:

  • Dr Sebastian Faulks CBE, esteemed author for his outstanding contribution to literature, literary criticism and research.
  • Mr Syd Nadim, entrepreneur and founder of Clock Ltd in recognition of his outstanding work in the development of Business and Entrepreneurial education.
  • Mr David Sproul in recognition of becoming the youngest ever chief executive officer and senior partner of Deloitte LLP.
  • Mrs Patricia Lott, the University’s first ever director of personnel, for her outstanding contribution to the development of Human Resources management at the University of Hertfordshire and across Higher Education in the UK.
  • Mr Sebastian Conran, entrepreneur and product designer, for his work in the promotion and support of the creative industries and being an inspiration to others in the field of design.
  • Sir Roger Moore KBE, for his outstanding contribution to the UK film and television industry for over fifty years, in particular film and television production in the County of Hertfordshire.
  • Mr Graham Blyth, British audio engineer, in recognition of his long and distinguished career and his leadership in advancing mixing console design.
  • Mrs Cheryl Beattie, in recognition of her outstanding work in the field of learning disability whilst triumphing over her own disabilities.
  • Mr Michael Beaman, for his outstanding contribution to pharmacy education in the UK and for his continued support to the University’s School of Pharmacy.
  • Sir Graham Wynne in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the protection of the environment. Prior to his retirement in 2010 he was the chief executive for the RSPB.
  • Mrs Anne Dunbar, for her dedication as a manager and clinician in the field of radiology. She has also made a significant and sustained contribution to the development of radiography education the University.
  • Ms Karen Middleton CBE, chief health professions officer at the Department of Health, for her achievements as a champion of allied health professionals and her close association with the University of Hertfordshire.
  • Commander Sarah West, for her outstanding achievement of becoming the first woman to command a frontline warship in the 500 year history of the Royal Navy.
  • Mr Bob Forrest, for his unique and leading role played in the development of astronomy at the University, during his time as principal technical officer of Bayfordbury from the mid-1980s to his retirement in 2010.
  • Mr Jody Cundy MBE, Paralympic athlete, in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the advancement of the profile of Paralympic sport.

Travelling to St Albans

People travel to St Albans from all over the world to take part in this celebration of academic success. To minimise the impact of the extra traffic, graduates and their guests are encouraged to use public transport. The University runs a shuttle bus service from Butterfly World in Chiswell Green, which is used as a park and ride for guests who travel by car.

The ceremonies begin on Monday 19th November and finish on Friday 23rd November.