Save the dates for our 2017/18 Research Seminar Series

Hertfordshire Law School 2017/18 Research Seminar Series

Our Research Seminar Series provides an open forum in which academic members of staff showcase evolving ideas, projects and collaborative research ventures. The School aims to build a strong, ambitious and collaborative research community and welcomes everyone who wishes to join our discussions.

Seminar Dates

Seminar 1:

Thursday 26 October 2017, 13:00 - 14.30

Room W102

Dr Naama Katz on 'Putting the lawyers in the centre: exposure to emotional factors in practicing social law'.

Seminar 9:

Thursday 15 March 2018, 13:00 - 14:30

Room W102

Dr Chamu Kuppuswamy on 'Access to land: Implications of customary and private land rights for food security'.

Seminar 2:

Thursday 09 November 2017, 13:00 - 14:30

Room N212

Dr Edina Harbinja on 'Post-mortem Privacy: From an obscure phenomenon to an impact case study'.

Seminar 10:

Thursday 29 March 2018, 13:00 - 14:30

Room W102

Dr Felipe Romero-Moreno on 'Notice and Staydown; The adoption of content recognition and filtering technology posing a fundamental threat to human rights'.

Seminar 3:

Thursday 23 November 2017, 13:00-14:30

Room R110

Mr Ali Rais-Toussi on 'Just War and Wars of Aggression: Historical developments in the Abrahamic faiths.

Seminar 11:

Thursday 26 April 2018, 13:00 - 14:30

Room W102

Hannah Richter on 'Making sense, making politics: Towards a political theory with Gilles Deleuze and Niklas Luhmann'.

Seminar 4:

Thursday 07 December 2017, 14:00 - 15:30

Room W102

Dr Laura Lo Coco on 'A theory of Secession, Territorial Jurisdiction, and International Order'.

Seminar 12:

Thursday 10 May 2018, 13:00 - 14:30

Room W102

Ms Muki Gorar on 'Female sexual autonomy and honour-based violence'.

Seminar 5:

Thursday 18 January 2018, 13:00 - 14:30

Room W102

Dr Elisa Randazzo on 'Self-Identification beyond Ethno-nationalism'.

Seminar 13:

Thursday 24 May 2018, 13:00 - 14:30

Room W102

Dr Thomas Dunk on 'MPS, league tables and elections'.

Seminar 6:

Thursday 01 February 2018, 13:00 - 14:30

Dr Camille Pommel on 'The legal use of referenda in Scotland (or the secret life of 239(3) of the Scotland Act)'.

Seminar 14:

Thursday 7 June 2018, 13:00 - 14:30

Room W102

Mrs Penny Carey; title TBC.

Seminar 7:

Thursday 15 February 2018, 13:00 - 15:30

Room W102

Dr Ferya Tas-Cifci on 'Forgotten victims: Honours based violence against LGBTQIS in Turkey and lack of state protection'.

Seminar 15:

Thursday 21 June 2018, 13:00 - 14:30

Room R140

Dr Francesca Batzella on 'Exploring the development of the EU external engagement on energy'.

Seminar 8:

Thursday 01 March 2018, 13:00 - 14:30

Room W102

Abeer Al Qaisi on 'The system of appointing judges by council for the judiciary'.

Seminar 16:

Thursday 05 July 2018, 13:00 - 14:30

Room R140

Dr Barbara Henry on 'Copyright and musical improvisation'.

Booking

If you would like to attend the seminars, please email Ermioni Xanthopoulou on e.xanthopoulou@herts.ac.uk with the name of the seminar(s) you will be attending.

Location

de Havilland Campus
University of Hertfordshire
Hatfield
Hertfordshire
AL10 9EU
UK